Tags

, , , , , , , ,

20130126-201708.jpg

So this was inspired by seeing all those delicious dairy-full chocolate cream pies out there and I just had to create one of my own, dairy-free of course! A friend gave me her chocolate mousse recipe and then I took parts from two other recipes and added this and that and the finish product was just perfect! Be careful, a small slice is just enough. It’s very rich but guilt-free because it’s dairy and gluten free. Which means dig in!

We brought our new found love to a party and it got rave reviews! So after everyone tried a slice then the comments came.
“What’s in this? No dairy? What??”
Silence, and then I told them, “Avocados!”
“What?!?!?! AVOCADOS?!?!?! I don’t even like avocados but THIS is good! You can’t even taste them!”

I know my pictures are not the best but I was trying to take them while everyone was crowded around trying to get a slice!

20130126-203532.jpg

20130126-203544.jpg

Chocolate Cream Pie Recipe
Crust:
1 1/2 cups pecans
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 cup dates

Filling:
4 avocados
1 2/3 cups cacao or cocoa powder (add more if you want it richer)
1 1/3 cups agave
2 Tablespoons vanilla
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
(play with it, if you like it saltier or sweeter)

Coconut cream:
2 14oz. cans of coconut heavy cream (refrigerate for 4 hours and use only the thick part)
3 Tablespoons agave
1 Tablespoon arrowroot powder, optional (be careful it doesn’t clump, sprinkle it on)
1 Tablespoon vanilla

Directions:
Blend all crust ingredients and press into 9″ pie dish. Blend all filling ingredients and pour over crust. Blend all coconut cream ingredients and pour over filling. Add chocolate chips or shavings to the top and try not to eat it too fast!

Must keep refrigerated! If you have extra cream it’s wonderful in coffee:)

Hope you enjoy. Please give me your feedback. I’m always trying to make recipes better.

